2014 F1 Preview: Race-by-race overview

The Formula 1 season starts in Australia with Free Practice on Friday morning, 14 March, with the first race of the season to be flagged off on Sunday on 16 March.

The calendar includes a new race in Sochi, Russia, on 12 October and the return on 22 June, of the Austrian Grand Prix for the first time since 2003.

The following offers some detail of the 19-race calendar, which has the same number of races as last year. Start times are 1200 GMT unless otherwise stated.

Formula One World Championship

Australia, 16 March

Albert Park street circuit, Melbourne. 58 laps of 5.303 km. Total distance 307.574 km. 0600 GMT start (1700 local). 2013 winner: Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus. Melbourne has hosted since 1996 what has become one of the most popular races on the calendar. The scene of Raikkonen’s most recent victory, he also won here in 2007 with Ferrari on the way to the title.